Saxon Graham Research Award

The late Saxon Graham, PhD, was chair of the Department of Epidemiology and Environmental Health from 1981-1991 and was a leader in the field of nutritional epidemiology. His work on diet and cancer was instrumental in our growing understanding of what causes cancer and its prevention.

This award provides funds to support research activities that are being conducted as part of a doctoral dissertation. Eligible students are candidates in the PhD in epidemiology degree program who have passed the preliminary examination. Awarded funds are applied towards research activities such as participant recruitment, clinical specimen analysis, travel to meet with collaborators, etc.

Applicants should submit the following materials to the department chair: 

  • Specific aims (NIH format): maximum of two single-sided pages detailing study rationale and study aims
  • NIH-format biosketch
  • Budget and budget justification: maximum of two single-sided pages detailing proposed expenditure of award funds
Qualifications and Details

Awarded annually in the spring semester to a doctoral student in epidemiology.

Past Winners

  • 2018: Gauri Desai
  • 2017: No recipient
  • 2016: No recipient
  • 2015: Catherine Callahan
  • 2014: Xiaodan Mai
  • 2013: Michelle Sahli
  • 2012: Yanli Li
  • 2011: Michelle Roberts
  • 2010: No recipient
  • 2009: Brent Williams