Gamma Lambda Chapter of the Delta Omega Honorary Society: Honoring Public Health Achievement

Member Highlights

Annual award applauds the important role of public health education

Jessica Kruger.

Congratulations, Dr. Jessica Kruger, Clinical Assistant Professor at the University at Buffalo School of Public Health and Health Professions, Department of Community Health and Health Behavior, and fellow Gamma Lambda member. Dr. Kruger received an honorable mention for the 2020 Delta Omega Award for Innovative Public Health Curriculum. Dr. Kruger, along with her colleague Dr. Sarahmona Przybyla, developed PUB 450 Incarceration and Public Health, a course which examines incarceration in the U.S. from a public health lens. The course focuses on the system of incarceration, social and behavioral factors that contribute to incarceration, health problems that affect prisoners, the role that racial inequality plays in criminal justice, and community re-entry.

About the Chapter

We established Gamma Lambda on April 9, 2012, inducting 21 students, alumni and faculty in our inaugural year. Since then, we have inducted over 100 members, recognizing each for their protection and advancement of the health of all people.

Our world faces many challenges, and we are at the forefront of the public health response. Our members provide guidance for policies on smoking and vaping, lead research that improves the world’s understanding of cancer causes and effective treatments, and are on the front lines responding to and working on vaccine development for COVID-19.

We champion future public health leaders by recognizing students for their service and scholarship at the School’s annual Perry Poster Day and will continue to recognize students, alumni, faculty and partners as the best among us, creating a healthier world for all.

What is Delta Omega?

delta omega logo.

Founded in 1924, Delta Omega is the honorary society for public health with chapters in over 70 Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH)-accredited schools and programs providing public health degrees. The Society promotes teaching, scholarship, and service in public health, and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated leadership and achievement in these areas.

Who Belongs to Delta Omega?

Delta Omega membership reflects dedication to quality in public health, and the protection and advancement of health for all people. Members are elected based on high academic standards and outstanding performance in scholarship, teaching, research and service from four groups:

  • Students who are candidates for a public health degree
  • Faculty members engaged in public health teaching and scholarship
  • Alumni engaged in public health leadership and service
  • Honorary members who have attained meritorious distinction in public health

Gamma Lambda Inductees

2020 Inductees

Name Category
Kristopher Attwood, MA, PhD Alumnus
Daniel Culpepper, MPH Student
Yuxin Ding, PhD Student
Zeinab Farhat, PhD Student
Claire Fusani, BS Student
John Gaeddert, MPH Alumnus
Kennedy George, BS Student
Jennifer Gilbert, DVM, MPH Student
Kelly Gleason, MPH Student
Jim Harris, MPH Student
Emma Jones, BS Student
Jessica Kruger, PhD Faculty
Lina Mu, PhD, MD Faculty
Heather Ochs-Balcom, PhD Alumna
Jennifer Seidman, BS Student
Danielle Smith, PhD Student
Rachael Tylock, MS Student
Albert Vexler, PhD Faculty

Fengwei Yang, MA


Gamma Lambda Presidents

  • 2020 – Interim President Kim Krytus, Gamma Lambda Chapter, '13
  • 2016 – 2019 Deirdre Wheat, Gamma Lambda Chapter, ‘13
  • 2014 – 2016 Michael F. Noe, Eta Chapter, ‘73
  • 2012 – 2014 Lynn Kozlowski, Gamma Lambda Chapter, ’13

Gamma Lambda Founders

  • Gregory G. Homish, Omicron Chapter, ‘13
  • Lynn Kozlowski, Gamma Lambda Chapter, ‘13
  • Michael F. Noe, Eta Chapter, ‘73