Award and Lectureship

The J. Warren Perry Award and Distinguished Lectureship is the School of Public Health and Health Professions’ lecture series honoring the late J. Warren Perry, PhD, founding dean of the School of Health Related Professions.

Perry, a pioneer in the field of allied health, served as dean from 1966 until his retirement in 1977. A prolific and accomplished scholar, administrator, author and lecturer, he was a national figure in his field and his work had an impact on health care delivery systems throughout the country.

The Perry award and lectureship recognizes individuals who have provided exemplary leadership in public health, health professions or the health sciences. Initiated in 1989 by Dean Alan Stull, PhD, the lectureship introduces students, faculty and staff to some of the best leaders and scholars in a variety of fields. Past honorees include:

  • Howard K. Koh, MD, MPH, U.S. Assistant Secretary for Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (2012)
  • David L. Katz, Yale University School of Medicine (2011)
  • Linda Rae Murray, President of the American Public Health Association (2010)
  • Richard E. Besser, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (2009)
  • Stanley P. Azen, Keck School of Medicine (2007)
  • Shiriki Kumanyika, University of Pennsylvania, School of Medicine (2003)
  • Thomas Robinson, College of Allied Health Professions, Lexington, Kentucky (2001)
  • Stephen Blair, The Cooper Institute for Aerobics Research (1995)

The criteria for selecting recipients are:

  • Commitment and significant contributions to improving the health of individuals and/or the community.
  • A national or internationally recognized leader in his or her profession as a scholar, administrator or public servant.

The award recipient is invited to The University at Buffalo to deliver a formal lecture and participate in social events organized by the school.